Ariadne Op. 31

Concertante for solo oboe and twelve players

Orchestration: ob solo, fl (+picc), 2 cl (II+bcl), tpt, 2 tbn, perc (sheep bells, tbells, BD, log dr, 5 tom, mba, vib, glock, wind chimes, gongs, 2 cym (small & large), 2 tamb, small bells, tri), pn (+cel), vln, vla, vc, db

Publisher: Oxford University Press Conductor’s score and parts on hire

Piano reduction (for rehearsal only)

Duration: 20-25 minutes

Commissioned by Michael Johnson for performance by his wife Sarah Francis.

To Sarah and Michael

First performance: 11 July 1972 at the Cheltenham Festival with Sarah Francis (oboe), conducted by Michael Lankester.

“This music is refreshingly uncerebral and compassionate as well as magically evocative in scoring.” – The Times