Memories of Morning, Night

A monodrama for mezzo-soprano solo and chamber orchestra. The text drawn from Jean Rhys’s novel Wide Sargasso Sea. It tells the story of the first Mrs. Rochester in Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre – her West Indian childhood amongst recently freed slaves; her marriage; the intolerable pressures of family and society that lead to her mental breakdown; and finally, the story we all know, the burning down of Thornfield.

The Wedding Band, which should be separately from the strings and horn, is modelled on the Mexican Mariarchi orchestras.

Forces: Mezzo-soprano solo & chamber orchestra

Orchestration: 3 fl(II+picc+afl,III+picc), 3 tpt(I+tptinD), 2 hp, pn, timp, 3 perc, str

Commissioned by the BBC.

First performance: BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Colin Davis with Meriel Dickinson as soloist on 8 December 1971, at the Royal Festival Hall, London.

Duration: 33-34 minutes

Publisher: Oxford University Press

To Eric and Nancy Crozier, with great affection

Part One -Coulibri


Part Two – Thornfield


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s